Getting by July

July has been nothing short of eventful. Two and a half weeks ago, I fainted from nausea in the middle of the night and somehow tumbled down the stairs to mid-landing. From the bloody mess on my face, the E.R. doctor suggested my nose might be deformed. That was kinda unnerving but thank God the X-rays showed only fracture impressions and no actual bone damage. And so I got my first stitches in life and they came in a bunch of around 21 near my eyebrow, across my nose bridge and next to my philtrum. Sure glad someone invented anesthesia. Now my stitches and bruises are gone, leaving me with icky scars not as cool as Harry Potter’s. So much gratitude to my family and friends who have been super supportive throughout this incident, to the many who prayed for me, as well as the lovely hospital staff. Above all, thanks to the almighty Father for instilling peace in me all along, and for protecting my eyes and bones during the fall. :)

IMG_1798

My new jewels.

Undesired things aside, this something I had my eyes on since uni days and last Thursday, I finally had it in my hands. My very own DSLR! *confetti shower* :D I’m far from pro at taking photos but I still enjoy the process of taking photos and the satisfaction when it comes out pretty (at least imo haha).

There is no doubt about the supremacy of DSLR photos compared to compact cameras, plus you get big control on the settings – meaning stunning photographs if you set them right! I did my research online and settled for Nikon D5200 in the end, with a 18-55 mm + 55-200 mm lens. Haven’t got much chances to play around with it beside these two days but stay tuned for better pics in my blog yay! As for my Canon Powershot SX220 HS, it’s no less precious than before – got to admit how handy and light compacts are when you’re hiking or travelling light! Also, this superzoom dearie was my birthday gift from a bunch of clowns, so I’ll definitely not stash it away.

DSC_0056

Oh cakes.

Yesterday marked the first day of Hari Raya in Malaysia (holidays :D) and the first time I wore a baju kurung, thanks for lending me Waiyee! We went house-hopping and surprisingly managed to visit 7 of our colleagues in a day. It was never-ending – the bowls of rice, curry, rendang etc apart from cookies and cakes. Thanks to my wounds-induced-food-ban, I probably saved myself from gaining 1 or 2 kg. Just lemme be a sour grape! I had great fun eating pulut.

At Jeffri's - our first stop.

At Jeffri’s – our first stop.

At Shaffie's parents' house.

At Shaffie’s parents’ house.

Cornflake cookies with colourful sprinkles!

Cornflake cookies with colourful sprinkles!

Cutie pie Kesha who laughs along with others and holds monologue in baby language happily.

Cutie pie Kesha who laughs along with others and holds monologue in baby language happily.

With Rasyid's family (and his ships).

With Rasyid’s family (and his ships).

Circle of temptation. :(

Circle of temptation. :(

Waiyee and I plus the hyper bunch at the back.

Waiyee and I plus the hyper bunch at the back.

Beautifully arranged kek lapis.

Beautifully arranged kek lapis. Caught in action: The little seaweed cracker monster attacking her favourite snack.

Something about cookies in glass jars..

Something about cookies in glass jars..

Nasi Briyani. So happy I could eat this! :D

Nasi Briyani. So happy I could eat this! :D

Last stop at Affendy's...where all the kids went ultimate chaotic.

Last stop at Affendy’s…where all the kids went ultimate chaotic.

An hour after finishing Raya visiting, I was off for our high school gathering at Park Hotel’s restaurant. Some were back for holidays and it was a good chance for us to catch up over food and games. Miraculously my battery lasted till 1 a.m. before exhaustion hit in. 

Honey glazed pork ribs.

Honey glazed pork ribs.

Steamed fish looking quite unglam.

Steamed fish looking quite unglam.

Thick-facedly arranged the chairs out ourselves in front of other customers to take this 'class photo'.

Thick-facedly arranged the chairs out ourselves in front of other customers to take this ‘class photo’.

It doesn’t matter whether we came from a nerdy or noisy class; 7 years on from high school graduation, we can sit together and talk the night away, play together and make fun of each other…because it is not everyday the engineers, the doctor/dentist, the geophysist and the entrepreneurs can gather round the table. Heh. There are many more of our dear friends diligently carving their future all across the globe; may each of us continue to grow in a good manner and contribute to the society (like how we dig them paths in Saboteur ;D)!

