Music. to my ears.

The topic given: When you’re feeling down, what music cheers you up?

I was telling Tseyui just 20 mins ago when we were walking back from lecture that I worry if anyone would be interested in reading this post of mine because even I myself am worried about being biased lol. I’ll try not to…O_O It’s not a good habit to rely on wordly things for comfort though I admit I find it a really big challenge, especially during my normal daily life. (The world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever. — 1 John 2:17) May God give us the strength to change our ways…

Anyway, what I’m writing would probably answer the question “What music do you listen to?” better. Basically my songs can be divided into 3 categories: Christian songs, instrumental songs and Korean songs. So let’s start with the first category! Personally I prefer Chinese ones more, maybe because I attended Youth Fellowship in a Chinese church, thus I knew more of them compared to English ones. Apart from that, it seems like usually Chinese worship songs tend to be more soft and mellow – yeah, my kind of songs. X)


仰望恩典 – means something like Gazing Upon Your Grace. Isn’t the melody beautiful? (; Remember that His grace is sufficient for us, for His power is made perfect in weakness.


祷告 – Prayer. Nothing soothes and gives us encouragement like God. No one knows us like He does, because He’s the one who created us all. He takes away our sorrows so just talk and call out to Him when you’re down.


밀알 – Grain for the Gospel. Jesus died on the cross for us sinners, what more could we ask for? Always have faith in Lord our God!
Luke 17:6 — He replied, “If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it will obey you.
And in the last book of the Bible, “Be faithful, even to the point of death, and I will give you the crown of life.”


As The Deer. This song is one of the songs that I have a deep impression of – the kind that is stuck at the back of your head. Some songs pass and go but there are always some that remains in your memory no matter what. Right? (: I remember it kept replaying in my mind during a test back in Primary 5, so much that I wrote down the lyrics on my question paper. The lyrics are really meaningful!

As the deer pants for the water,
So my soul longs after You.
You alone are my heart’s desire,
And I long to worship You.

*You alone are my strength, my shield;
To You alone may my spirit yield.
You alone are my heart’s desire,
And I long to worship You.

I want You more than gold or silver,
Only You can satisfy.
You alone are the real joy giver,
And the apple of my eye.

You’re my friend and You are my brother
Even though You are a King.
I love You more than any other,
So much more than anything.

*************

Next category..Instrumental music! This category can be split further actually – classical, modern, drama soundtracks, orchestral, Christian etc. They are all ear-soothing in a different way. Classical music from the Baroque era is the most appealing to me, Vivaldi and Bach! :D

Vivaldi’s Concerto for Two Violins in A Minor.

 Thought I shouldn’t put any of the Four Seasons pieces here since they’re too commonly heard, haha! I find this piece really nice, and I enjoy it at this tempo in this performance more than the one by Tafelmusik. <3 the solo parts.

Adagio in C Minor

My mum loves this haha. So do I! Yanni is undeniably one great composer of contemporary orchestral music. This performance was at Taj Mahal, must be awe-inspiring to hear them live, moreover in such a grand location. Check out his other wonderful masterpieces like Tribute, Reflection of Passion and Nightingale! :D

Kiss The Rain

Honestly there’re toooo many instrumental music I feel like sharing here and it’s so hard to choose! But recalling back, I think this is possibly the first instrumental song I saved. It shall definitely remain as one of the best! If Yanni is my favourite orchestral pieces composer, Yiruma will be my favourite piano pieces composer. The no.2 Yiruma song would be River Flows in You. (;

Be still (주의임재앞에 잠잠해)

Violin + Cello makes such a heavenly combination, their sounds seem to just blend together and melt. TT And these kids played it so very well…A most beautiful piece.

*************

Final category, the very widely trending Korean songs. If you have yet to know — I simply love Korean ballads. The sadder the better. Some melodies are just able to strum the right chord in my heart and make me feel like tearing, you know, with the nose getting sour-ish. That’s the first criteria. ;P The other point is of course, ahem, Kyu. After spending 10 secs debating whether to spaz or not, I decided I’ll at least try to do the later lol.

“Yearning…Yearn”(그립고… 그리운) – Park HyoShin.

This is it!!! My ideal ballad. A 98% perfect example of my ideal sentimental ballad. “After Love”, “Wishing For You”, “Let’s Hate Each Other” are my favs from PHS too! He’s an awesome singer who sings his heart out with an exquisite voice, very different from Kyu’s but it complements his songs very well.


Here’s a duet of him with Tei – 추억은 사랑을닮아 and 가튼 베개, another ballad singer who seems to be inactive now. It’s kind of sad how the ballad genre is silently being wiped out by catchy pop songs, the change is obvious in music chart shows like Music Bank. Also, ballad singers like Tim, Sung Sikyung, Lee Kichan are all rarely heard these days. What’s more, PHS is in the army now, sigh. From those I listen to, only Shin Hyesung is still well on the go. T__T

Oh right, so SM The Ballad is a ballad group I forgot. But their album didn’t really met my expectations pfft. ): Even though Kyu’s in it. The tracks are not powerful enough as ballads. The song that got more popular was in fact, not a ballad…it puzzled me why it was recorded in the album lol. My conclusion was — to let them show off their good vocals XD. You can judge by the name that it is very ”unballad-ish” : Hot Times.


A decent collaboration between 2 SJ singers, 2 SHINee singers and the 3 SG Wannabe singers – singing “My Everything” from 98 Degrees. I love how Kyu is given the opening line, the climax at 2:25 and the ending line. XD Bias-ness at work oops.


KRY – “Steps to Stop”(걸음을 멈추고). Tune up your volume hehe. One of my favourite KRY songs! Then there’s Just You, Let’s Not, Coagulation blablabla. I really do wish I’ll somehow have a chance to attend a KRY concert someday!


Laaast one. =P A very short cut of him singing “Snowflower 눈의꼿” just 2 weeks ago in Seoul.

